

Board of Governors

Judy H. Singleton Co-Chairman

Teresa S. Lubbers
Co-Chairman

Melissa Proffitt Reese

Lesley N. Reser Senator's Liaison

Jan P. Abbs
Kristin L. Altice
Mary Ilu Altman
Shokrina R. Beering
Tory C. Castor
Lesa F. Dietrick
Kathie R. Fleck
Taja M. Graham

Gretchen Gutman Patricia P. Keiffner

Julie K. Griffith

Karen H. Mersereau Carolyn A. Molander

Barbara J. Quandt Dollyne P. Sherman

Honorary Governors

Joyce E. Brinkman
Mary Moses Cochran
Deborah J. Daniels
Ann G. DeVore
Sue Anne Gilroy
Dottie J. Hancock
Martha D. Lamkin
Leah Mannweiler
Connie K. Nass
Marjorie H. O'Laughlin
Paula Parker-Sawyers
Suellen K. Reed
Sue W. Scholer
Becky S. Skillman

Executive Director

Sandi R. Huddleston

Corporate Partners

Ice Miller
Guidant Corporation
Anthem Blue Cross and
Blue Shield

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE October 11, 2005

CONTACT: SAND

SANDI HUDDLESTON EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

(317) 964-5005

JENNIFER RUBY NAMED TO RICHARD G. LUGAR EXCELLENCE IN PUBLIC SERVICE SERIES 16th CLASS

INDIANAPOLIS - The Richard G. Lugar Excellence in Public Service Series announced today that Jennifer Ruby has been selected as a member of the 2005-06 class. As a participant in this national leadership program, Ruby will receive specialized training for preparation to serve in key governmental and political positions.

At the opening session luncheon Senator Lugar restated his commitment to the program's goals of identifying and encouraging outstanding Hoosier women to enter public life.

"Jennifer Ruby and the other nineteen women who have been selected to participate in the program are extraordinary in their dedication to their communities. I am confident that Jennifer will accept new and important roles in public service. The women who have graduated from the series are enriching our public policy discussions and enhancing the quality of life in our state and our nation." Lugar said.

Jennifer Ruby, Esq. counsels clients on estate planning, probate and small business issues. She holds a bachelor of science from Purdue University, and a master of planning and juris doctorate from Indiana University. She is licensed to practice law in Indiana and New Mexico, and holds a national certification in planning. Ruby is involved in the community - sitting on the IU-Indy SPEA Alumni Board, the Warren Township Development Association Board and the Irvington Historic Designation Steering Committee.

Applicants to the series were evaluated on the basis of written and oral presentations. Chosen from a friend of statewide applicants, these women represent diverse backgrounds and interests, while sharing a commitment to public service in an appointed or elected capacity. More than 500 women from across the nation have been trained for public service through this program which was started in Indiana in 1990. The Excellence in Public Service Series has been replicated in 19 states due to the leadership of Judy Singleton, co-founder of the Excellence program.

The Richard G. Lugar Excellence in Public Service Series is a not-for-profit organization funded and operated by the voluntary contributions of individuals and organizations committed to increasing the leadership of women in politics and government.

-END-